July 2010 Vol. 237 No. 7

Business Meetings & Events

July 2010 Association News

Eastern Shore Natural Gas Company (ESNG), a subsidiary of Chesapeake Utilities Corporation, received the American Gas Association‘s Safety Achievement Award for the seventh year in a row. The 2009 Safety Achievement Award, presented at AGA’s 2010 Operations Conference on May 12 in New Orleans was given to companies that achieved the lowest “DART” incident rate — a mathematical calculation that describes the number of recordable injuries and illnesses per 100 full-time employees that resulted in days away from work or restricted work activity.

ESNG received the only award for medium-sized transmission companies. ESNG also eceived the 2009 Industry Leader Accident Prevention Certificate.

Niel C. Ellerbrook, chairman and CEO of Vectren Corporation, was awarded the AGA Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the natural gas industry. Ellerbrook was elected chairman and CEO of Vectren upon its formation on March 31, 2000 and was named chairman, president and CEO in May 2003. He retired on May 31, 2010 and is now non-executive.

RCP President Bill Byrd, PE, was elected to the Executive Committee of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering’s Safety Engineering and Risk Analysis Division (SERAD). SERAD works with industry, ASME Codes & Standards, and other relevant professional and regulatory organizations to discuss, review, and promote practices which lead to reduced risk and improved occupational environments.

The Pipeline Simulation Interest Group (PSIG) presented its first Technology Advancement Award to Drs. Henry H. Rachford, Jr. and Richard G. Carter of GL Noble Denton. The senior pipeline experts were honoured for their work in pipeline optimization under transient conditions.

Miller Petroleum, Inc. dba Miller Energy Resources, announced that its CEO, Scott M. Boruff, was named 2009 Tennessee Oil Man of the Year by the Tennessee Oil and Gas Association (TOGA).


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}